Posted .

To help you know more about your smile, our i smile mathis ferry dentistry team is happy to explain the different parts of a tooth! That way you’ll understand more of what your dentist, Dr. Haefner, is talking about when you come into our office for an appointment. The main parts of a tooth include the:

-Crown: The crown is the section of the tooth that is visible to the naked eye. This section is the part that shows when you smile.

-Enamel: The enamel is the hard outer layer that is covering the tooth. This section acts as a shell and protects the tooth from tooth decay.

-Dentin: The dentin is the hard tissue that is located beneath the enamel. This section is a yellow color, so if your enamel starts to wear away, your dentin will show, which will give you a yellow smile.

-Pulp chamber: The pulp chamber is the space inside the tooth that stores the nerves and blood vessels. When this section is infected, treatment is often needed.

-Root: The root is the part of the tooth that is inside the bone socket. This section holds the tooth firmly in place.

If you would like to know more about the different parts of a tooth, please feel free to call our office at 843-884-1215 and talk to a member of our dental team. We are here to help you in any way we can, and we are more than happy to give you the information you need to better understand your smile. We look forward to hearing from you!